Pan Lancashire and Cumbria SAB Logo

Top of page

Size: View this website with small text View this website with medium text View this website with large text View this website with high visibility


This chapter was added to the manual in April 2015.

The seven key stages of the safeguarding Adults process are as follows:

During these stages, key considerations are:

  • Supporting and enabling the adult at risk to achieve outcomes that they see as the best for them, where possible;
  • The need for the person at risk to be represented by an advocate, including an IMCA;
  • Assessing and addressing risk;
  • Taking action to protect and support the adult;
  • Deciding whether a mental capacity assessment is needed to clarify issues of consent;
  • Taking appropriate action for the person causing harm;
  • Taking appropriate action with a service and/or its management if they have been culpable, ineffective or negligent;
  • Identifying any lessons to be learnt for the future, including recommendations for any changes to the organisation and service delivery.

This table, Summary of Stages and Timescales of the Safeguarding Process Table summarises what is involved in the seven key stages. If, at any stage, the issue is assessed as no longer appropriate for the Safeguarding Adults process, it can be closed down. The seventh stage – closing the Safeguarding Adults process – is only for those cases that go through all of the stages, including review.